a tender touch, precious moments, life's every day beauties…

Phos graphê

Too often I am realizing how quickly time goes by.   😥   Even when you are being cognizant of that fact, there is little, next to nothing, that you can do to change it or slow it down!  Live in the moment sounds like some good sound advice.  Now practicing it on the other hand…I should tattoo it on the top of my hand to let it serve as a constant reminder to do so.

There are two things I find myself thinking fairly frequently.  One: If I could take pictures with my eyeballs, they would be brilliant images!!!  I’m talking award winning, stunning pieces of work!  Two: I wish I had more limitless memory.  Not for my computer, but for my brain!  Seriously.  Looking back through our family photos, I am stupefied   😯   at how many memories already would’ve been completely lost.  That is, if it weren’t for these pieces of paper we keep with images captured on them.  photos.   😀

This Thanksgiving I am especially thankful for photography; for cameras, for pictures, for the people who cared enough to forge ahead and make simplified versions of cameras and everything that goes with it. Photography is amazing, purposeful and in general a gift to the human race!

Photography is the technique of recording and generating permanent images, by the capturing and preservation of physical stimulus-patterns on a layer of photosensitive material. It involves recording light patterns as reflected from objects, on to a sensitive medium through momentary exposure.  (www.wordiq.com)

The word photography comes from the Greek words, phos (“light”) and graphis (“stylus” or “paintbrush”) or graphê, together meaning “drawing with light” or “representation by means of lines”, “drawing”. (www.wordiq.com)

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, thank you for being part of my journey.  Please continue to share your thoughts with me, whether it be a comment on the page, when I see you in person, or talk to you on the phone.  I enjoy hearing the feedback!  Thank you!

Now, on a super personal note.  I found myself laying in bed last night right before I fell asleep. I wasn’t awake, I wasn’t asleep, it was that weird in-between state.  I was seeing my mom.  Not all of her, or maybe it was, but I was focusing in on pieces of her, one at a time.  on a beauty mark. on her cheek. on her lips. on an eye. on her fingers.  I was thinking of how soft and smooth the skin on her finger tips was.  Now I find myself wondering if she knew how special and beautiful she was.

Big, little, tall, short, long hair, short hair, no hair, fat, skinny, white, black, everyone was created different and those who truly love you, love so many aspects about you inside & out.  As we celebrate this holiday season I truly encourage you to take pictures of your loved ones.  Not just, “okay, everybody say cheese” type pictures, but unequivocal, candid, unpolished this is who they are. in the moment. photos.

This is one of the last pictures I took of my mom.  It was taken about a month before she passed away.

Barbara Ann Peters

9/26/1946 – 8/25/2010

3 responses

  1. your words are true. Thanks for the reminder. So sorry to hear about the passing of your mother. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

    November 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm

  2. Melinda Gallagher

    Beautiful pictures, wonderful prose.

    November 28, 2010 at 6:51 pm

  3. Pingback: Dandelion Heaven! « Jillian Cobb Photography

Leave a Reply

