a tender touch, precious moments, life's every day beauties…

My Road to Discovery…

Okay, so I’m anxious, very anxious…and excited. The energy that is pumping through me is giving me the kind of feeling where your chest is filled with butterflies and it actually tickles. Every now and then, I have to take a few deep breaths to sooth the tickle. What is it that has me feeling this way?! New love? Well sort of. It’s my newfound passion, bordering on obsession, for photography.

My road to discovery has been a long time in the making, I just never realized it!

I’ve been obsessively snapping pictures of my children for the past seven years now. Trying to document their every important milestone, special occasion, tender touch, and casual every day moments of my little turkey’s lives. When my youngest turned one it led me to thinking about many things, one of which was: me. Having four children within the span of 6 years has not left, to say the least, very much time to think about myself.

As Emily Ann approached the very celebrated milestone of turning one, I realized, all too quickly, my baby girl would soon become very independent of me. Don’t get me wrong, I know she’s not yet packing her bags and on her way out the door. However, independence is a big part of growing up. I know if I don’t start reclaiming my own independence, I will, all too soon, find myself in an unfamiliar world of hurt.

As life would have it, some things have to be slapping me in the face for me to recognize what is going on. In this particular case, that is just what happened. I was backtracking through the past year of photographs when it dawned on me, that I would like to get to know photography on a whole different level. I started studying my camera (and it’s manual) and all of its creative modes. Then, I started taking the kiddos outside with the full intention of studying what I was doing. At first I thought it was amazing, then I was bewildered and confused! F-stop, shutter speed, ISO, overexposed, underexposed, light meter, RAW, you get the picture!? Within days of each other I had the opportunity to take pictures of two separate family friends, which was the slap in the face that kicked me into gear and, well…

Here I am, inviting you to join me on my journey. I would love for you to stop in from time to time, share my joy through my old, yet newfound, passion for photography and watch my growth.

Please feel free to leave comments!

By the way, the picture faaarr above & the only picture for this post, was taken when we were out near the Autrey Mill Nature Preserve.  We happened upon the riverwalk, which I thought was by far so beautfiul and picturesque!

Another FYI, I plan on posting rather frequently here at first.  This is mostly due to the fact that I meant to start a blog last May, when I originally wrote this post!!!  Therefore, I have a lot of catching up to do!   😆

8 responses

  1. Terry Peters

    What a fabulous start, I wish you great success!

    November 7, 2010 at 10:03 am

  2. Donna Shouldice

    How exciting to pursue a passion! I wish you continued excitement and discovery. Nice start!

    November 7, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  3. Vicki Cobb

    I have seen the passion and the love…..I know that your photography will take you to heights above and beyond anything you could ever imagine! You have got it Jill! I am so happy and excited for you!

    November 7, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  4. Melinda Gallagher

    What a gorgeous picture! Enjoy the journey…you are off to a great start!

    November 7, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  5. Xiomy Kelsh

    So excited for you! We wish you the best of luck and will keep an eye on changes and updates to this site – it looks great!

    November 7, 2010 at 8:08 pm

  6. Jacqueline Barney

    I am so glad to see that you went ahead and followed your heart! I know you have been toying with this idea and it’s an inspiration to see you move forward with it! I love the picture, it’s an amazing shot. Best of luck!

    November 9, 2010 at 3:04 am

  7. Lene Neesbye-Hansen

    Lovely words and picture!! You will do great with your journey!! I’ll be tagging along to see your progress!!

    November 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  8. Stacy Nardella

    Great Job Jill….Best of Luck sent from the Sunshine State!

    November 29, 2010 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

